The Strangest Secret in the World

definition of success

Earl Nightingale (March 12, 1921 – March 28, 1989)

by: Cecy Vargas

Have you ever wondered why it is that only a few people achieve success in life? I remember hearing a remarkable recording when I first started in the business world, “The Strangest Secret in the World” by Earl Nightingale. It completely changed my life and the way I understood the word “success.”

First let’s look at what success means. According to the dictionary, success is the accomplishment of an aim or purpose. In other words, Earl Nightingale says that success is the progressive realization of a worthy ideal. But if that is the definition of success, I started to ask myself this question: Was my 11th grade teacher successful? I remember her as the best teacher I ever had. She not only taught grammar and language, she really taught me the importance of reading, understanding, and analyzing what I was reading. She opened the world of knowledge to me, but she was not a millionaire. Even so, according to the different people I have met in my life who are leading fulfilling lives, I have come to the understanding that my 11th grade teacher was successful: She became what she wanted to be, and she became the best at it.

I wanted to share today what I believe is my understanding of success. We can become successful today. Success is not a dream or something you can accomplish. Success is knowing that you are working constantly to become what you want to become. Success in the world should not be measured by how much we have or how much money we make. I believe it is something greater than that.

To know today if you are on the road to success I wanted to share what I have learned is a common denominator of the most successful people I have met. All of them had one common factor, and this is the best kept secret in the world. These people “think.” What I mean is that these people dedicate their lives to constantly thinking about where they want to be, who they want to become, etc.

I have seen that the biggest mistake the majority of us make is that we stop thinking about our goals and dreams. We stop controlling our thoughts and let other people, social media, and movies tell us what we should think and make opinions on our behalf.

I still remember when I was around thirteen years old talking to my mother and my father, who both came from families where there was never enough. They became my heroes, some of the people who I look up to and who have accomplished all their dreams. I asked them what their advice would be to me if I wanted to accomplish my goals. My father said, “Never stop dreaming. You have to envision what you want to accomplish, bigger than what you can imagine. I remember all I wanted was a house, a car, a career, and a family, and God gave me way more than that. But I remember envisioning, dreaming, and thinking about it all the time.”

As Earl Nightingale says, “You become what you think about.” Let’s start thinking about ourselves as what we want to become. Let’s start thinking about ourselves as that successful business woman, that person who can help millions, that couple who is an example to society, that single mom who has two boys who become influential in society, the boy who grows up to become a pastor and run the largest church in the country, that friend who is always there for the ones in need. Let’s think about success.

What would you add to the definition of success? Comment Below.

PHP Agency, is a financial services marketing organization in the U.S

For more information please visit PHP’s Website or call 877.788.4366

Leave a Reply

